Digital portrait by Max Stark

Tales of the Dark Weird Fantastic

“Alan Baxter is Australia’s master of literary darkness.”

This Is Horror

 

Alan Baxter is a multi-award-winning author of horror, supernatural thrillers, and dark fantasy liberally mixed with crime, mystery, and noir. He’s also a martial arts expert, a whisky-soaked swear monkey, and dog lover. He creates dark, weird stories among dairy paddocks on the beautiful south coast of NSW, Australia, where he lives with his wife, son and hound.

Welcome to my site. Click on any book cover to learn more about it or click on the image below to explore all of my published fiction.

Follow me on Patreon for loads of bonus content:

Become a Patron!

“Alan Baxter is Australia’s master of literary darkness.” – This Is Horror

“Alan Baxter can take horror from gonzo to heartbreaking in an instant. Good stuff… Alan Baxter can write like a m***********.” – Gail Simone, best-selling author of DC’s Birds of Prey, Wonder Woman, and more

“Alan Baxter is an accomplished storyteller who ably evokes magic and menace.” – Laird Barron, author of Swift to Chase

“Baxter delivers the horror goods.” – Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and The Cabin at the End of the World

“Alan Baxter is one of the best horror writers in the business.” – Kealan Patrick Burke, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of The Turtle Boy, Kin, and Sour Candy

“Step into the ring with Alan Baxter, I dare you. He writes with the grace, precision, and swift brutality of a prizefighter.”Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of ARARAT and THE PANDORA ROOM

“Alan Baxter’s thrillers have complete anatomy—muscles, brains, guts, and heart.” – World Fantasy Award-nominated author, Anna Tambour.

“Alan Baxter delivers a heady mix of magic, monsters and bloody fights to the death. Nobody does kick-ass brutality like Baxter.” – Greig Beck, Internationally bestselling author

“Alan Baxter’s fiction is dark, disturbing, hard-hitting and heart-breakingly honest. He reflects on worlds known and unknown with compassion, and demonstrates an almost second-sight into human behaviour.” — Kaaron Warren, Shirley Jackson Award-winner and author of The Grief Hole.

“…fantastic storytelling in the vein of Neil Gaiman or Alan Moore, but with a merciless black streak…” – Spooktapes

“…if Stephen King and Jim Butcher ever had a love child then it would be Alan Baxter.” – Smash Dragons

“Alan’s work is reminiscent of that of Clive Barker and Jim C. Hines, but with a unique flavour all of its own.” – Angela Slatter, World Fantasy, British Fantasy and Aurealis Award winner

“Baxter draws you along a knife’s edge of tension from the first page to the last, leaving your heart thumping and sweat on your brow.” – Midwest Book Review