William Gibson and Michael Moorcock are both going to have a good year in 2008, gaining recognition that they richly deserve.

Michael Moorcock has been named Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master for 2008 by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America. Presentation of the award will take place at this year’s Nebula Awards banquet in Austin, Texas, on April 26th.

Moorcock is the 25th writer recognized by SFWA as a Grand Master. Check out this list of people that make up the previous 24 recipients:
Robert A. Heinlein (1974)
Jack Williamson (1975)
Clifford D. Simak (1976)
L. Sprague de Camp (1978)
Fritz Leiber (1981)
Andre Norton (1983)
Arthur C. Clarke (1985)
Isaac Asimov (1986)
Alfred Bester (1987)
Ray Bradbury (1988)
Lester del Rey (1990)
Frederik Pohl (1992)
Damon Knight (1994)
A. E. van Vogt (1995)
Jack Vance (1996)
Poul Anderson (1997)
Hal Clement (1998)
Brian Aldiss (1999)
Philip Jose Farmer (2000)
Ursula K. Le Guin (2003)
Robert Silverberg (2004)
Anne McCaffrey (2005)
Harlan Ellison (2006)
James Gunn (2007)

That’s a list just bulging with imaginative talent. You can see the official SFWA announcement here.

William Gibson, one of my all time favourite authors, will also be honoured this year. According to Locus Magazine he will be inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame in June.

The induction ceremony will take place at the Experience Music Project/Science Fiction Museum on June 21st, 2008, in Seattle, in conjunction with the Locus Awards Weekend. Talking about lists of exemplary people, check out the list on the right hand side of the Science Fiction Museum website here and see who Gibson will be sharing his new home with.

Two people that greatly deserve the awards.