PRESS KIT

On this page you will find author photos, book covers, bios of varying length, and reviews/quote grabs. Permission is hereby granted to use any the following photographs or text for promotional, press, or publicity purposes.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions or requests.

Author Photos

Click on the thumbnail image for full photo at high resolution:

Book Cover Images

Click on the image for higher resolution version:

Co-authored with David Wood:

Non-fiction:

Alan Baxter Bios

Short

Alan Baxter is a multi-award-winning author of horror, supernatural thrillers and dark fantasy liberally mixed with crime, mystery and noir. This Is Horror calls him “Australia’s master of literary darkness” and the Talking Scared Podcast dubbed him “The Lord of Weird Australia.” He’s also a martial arts expert, a whisky-soaked swear monkey, and dog lover. He creates dark, weird stories among dairy paddocks on the beautiful south coast of NSW, Australia, where he lives with his family and other animals. Find him online at www.alanbaxter.com.au You’ll also find him spending far too much time on Twitter.

Long

Alan Baxter is a British-Australian, multi-award-winning author of horror, supernatural thrillers and dark fantasyliberally mixed with crime, mystery and noir. This Is Horror calls him “Australia’s master of literary darkness” and the Talking Scared Podcast dubbed him “The Lord of Weird Australia.” He’s also a martial arts expert, a whisky-soaked swear monkey, and dog lover. He creates dark, weird stories among dairy paddocks on the beautiful south coast of NSW, Australia, where he lives with his family and other animals. Alan is the author of several novels, including the Alex Caine trilogy, Bound, Obsidian and Abduction, The Balance duology, RealmShift and MageSign, the urban horror noir novel, Hidden City, and the horror/crime thriller Devouring Dark. His latest novel is the folk horror story, Sallow Bend coming through Cemetery Dance in August 2022. He’s also written several novellas, including the cosmic horror thriller The Book Club, the supernatural noir Eli Carver novella series, Manifest Recall, Recall Night, and Ghost Recall, the wildly popular gonzo horror novella, The Roo, and a mosaic novel across two novella collections of weird Australian horror, The Gulp and The Fall. Alan has also had more than 100 short fiction publications in journals and anthologies in Australia, the US, the UK, France, Germany and Japan, including The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Daily Science Fiction, and many others. Alan has two award-winning volumes of collected short fiction, Crow Shine and Served Cold. At times, Alan collaborates with US action/adventure bestselling author, David Wood. Together they have co-authored the short horror novel, Dark Rite, four action thrillers in The Jake Crowley Adventures, and three giant monster thrillers in the Sam Aston Investigations series. Alan has been an eleven-time finalist in the Aurealis Awards, an eight-time finalist in the Australian Shadows Awards and an eight-time finalist in the Ditmar Awards. From those shortlistings he won the 2021 Aurealis Award for Best Collection for The Gulp, the 2014 Australian Shadows Award for Best Short Story (“Shadows of the Lonely Dead”), the 2015 Australian Shadows Paul Haines Award For Long Fiction (“In Vaulted Halls Entombed”), the 2016 Australian Shadows Award for Best Collection (Crow Shine), and the 2019 Australian Shadows Award for Best Collection (Served Cold). He is also a past winner of the AHWA Short Story Competition (“It’s Always the Children Who Suffer”). Alan’s first collection, Crow Shine, also made the preliminary ballot for the 2016 Bram Stoker Award (TM) for Best Collection, and The Gulp made the preliminary ballot for the 2021 Bram Stoker Award (TM) for Best Collection. Alan’s 2015 Australian Shadows Paul Haines Award-winning story, “In Vaulted Halls Entombed”, was adapted for Season 3 of the Netflix Original Series, LOVE DEATH +ROBOTS. Read extracts from his novels and novellas, and find free short stories at his website – www.alanbaxter.com.au – or find him on Twitter @AlanBaxter and Facebook, and feel free to tell him what you think. About anything.

 

Selected Blurbs

“Alan Baxter is Australia’s master of literary darkness.” – This Is Horror

“The Lord of Weird Australia and all-round good bloke.” – Talking Scared Podcast

“Alan Baxter can take horror from gonzo to heartbreaking in an instant. Good stuff… Alan Baxter can write like a m***********.” – Gail Simone, best-selling author of DC’s Birds of Prey, Wonder Woman, and more

“Alan Baxter is an accomplished storyteller who ably evokes magic and menace.” – Laird Barron, author of Swift to Chase

“…Baxter shows off his impressive versatility and range with a host of stories that mix old school terrors with very now concerns. At turns creepy and visceral, Baxter delivers the horror goods.” – Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and The Cabin at the End of the World

“Master of the slow build, master of insidious horror, master of multiple points of view…hell, Alan Baxter is simply The Master… one of the best horror writers working today.” – Tim Lebbon, author of The Last Storm

“Alan Baxter is one of the best horror writers in the business.” – Kealan Patrick Burke, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of The Turtle Boy, Kin, and Sour Candy

“Alan Baxter is a chameleon. I’m convinced he can write comfortably in any genre…” – SCREAM Magazine

“Baxter is one of the greats. He feels next level.” – Well Read Beard

“Step into the ring with Alan Baxter, I dare you. He writes with the grace, precision, and swift brutality of a prizefighter. SERVED COLD is a stellar showcase for his talents. If you haven’t had the pleasure of reading him yet, start here!” – Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of ARARAT and THE PANDORA ROOM

“…if Stephen King and Jim Butcher ever had a love child then it would be Alan Baxter.” – Smash Dragons

“…a master storyteller…” – Kendall Reviews

“I’m a fan of Alan Baxter…” – James A. Moore author of Seven Forges and the Serenity Falls trilogy

“Alan’s work is reminiscent of that of Clive Barker and Jim C. Hines, but with a unique flavour all of its own.” – Angela Slatter, World Fantasy Award, British Fantasy Award, and Aurealis Award winning author of Sourdough & Other Stories and many more

“Alan Baxter’s fiction is dark, disturbing, hard-hitting and heart-breakingly honest. He reflects on worlds known and unknown with compassion, and demonstrates an almost second-sight into human behaviour.” – Kaaron Warren, Shirley Jackson Award-winner and author of The Grief Hole

“…fantastic storytelling in the vein of Neil Gaiman or Alan Moore, but with a merciless black streak…” – Spooktapes

“Alan Baxter’s thrillers have complete anatomy—muscles, brains, guts, and heart.” – World Fantasy Award-nominated author, Anna Tambour

“Sweet baby Cthulhu, Baxter brings the skin-crawl.” – Sci-Fi & Scary

“Alan Baxter has joined the ranks of talented authors who seek to push the boundaries of fantasy fiction… gritty, graphic and edge-of-seat thrilling… Not for the faint-hearted. Entertaining, sexy and intense…” – The Manly Daily

“Baxter draws you along a knife’s edge of tension from the first page to the last, leaving your heart thumping and sweat on your brow.” – Midwest Book Review

“Kick ASS!”Sean Williams, New York Times #1 Bestselling author

“Alan Baxter delivers a heady mix of magic, monsters and bloody fights to the death. Nobody does kick-ass brutality like Baxter.” – Greig Beck, Internationally bestselling author

“one of the best authors writing dark fiction today. Highly Recommend!” – Cedar Hollow Horror Reviews

“Baxter’s ability to bring forth shadowy doubt and immerse what would be scenes from normal life with a deeply unsettling sense of supernatural presence draws similarities to Stephen King” – Aurealis Magazine

“…his prose is fluid and engrossing, and he balances action with pace and at the same time provides wonderful vignettes of really quality descriptive prose.”Kylie Chan, author of the Dark Heavens, Journey to Wudang and Celestial Battle trilogies

.