Press Kit

PRESS KIT

Permission granted to use the following photographs for promotional, press, or publicity purposes.

Please feel free to contact me with any questions or requests.

Author Photos

Click on the thumbnail image for full photo at high resolution:

Alan Baxter Alan-by-Nicole-BW-crop-website sidebar-mug-web1 alan-2011-500x500-bw signing Alan-Baxter-1-1 alan-kirk-crop

Book Cover Images

Click on the image for higher resolution version:

The Alex Caine Series – Australia/NZ covers:

Bound Obsidian Abduction

The Alex Caine Series – US and Rest of the World covers (Bound out now, Obsidian and Abduction released in July 2017):

Bound-Cover-FINAL-large Obsidian-Cover-FINAL-large

The Balance Series

Balance Omnibus Front Final

Other works:

ghost-cover-full the-darkest-shade-of-grey_cover_full

write-the-fight-right-cover BIG Blood Codex Dark Rite

Primordial

Alan Baxter Bios

50 word

Alan Baxter writes supernatural thrillers and urban horror, rides a motorcycle and loves his dogs. He also teaches Kung Fu. He lives among dairy paddocks on the beautiful south coast of NSW, Australia. Read extracts from his novels, a novella and short stories at his website – www.warriorscribe.com – or find him on Twitter @AlanBaxter and Facebook.

100 word

Alan Baxter is a British-Australian author who writes supernatural thrillers and urban horror, rides a motorcycle and loves his dogs. He also teaches Kung Fu. He lives among dairy paddocks on the beautiful south coast of NSW, Australia, with his wife, son, dogs and cat. He’s the multi-award-winning author of several novels and over seventy short stories and novellas. So far. Read extracts from his novels, a novella and short stories at his website – www.warriorscribe.com – or find him on Twitter @AlanBaxter and Facebook, and feel free to tell him what you think. About anything.

300 word

Alan Baxter is a multi-award-winning British-Australian author who writes supernatural thrillers and urban horror, rides a motorcycle and loves his dogs. He also teaches Kung Fu. He lives among dairy paddocks on the beautiful south coast of NSW, Australia, with his wife, son, dogs and cat. He is the author of the dark supernatural thriller trilogy, Bound, Obsidian and Abduction (The Alex Caine Series) published by HarperVoyager Australia and Ragnarok Publications in the US, and the dark supernatural duology, RealmShift and MageSign (The Balance 1 and 2) from Gryphonwood Press. His latest book is the horror noir novella, The Book Club. As well as novels, Alan has had more than 70 short fiction publications in journals and anthologies in Australia, the US, the UK and France. His short fiction has appeared in The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Daily Science Fiction, Postscripts, and Midnight Echo, among many others, and more than twenty anthologies, including the Year’s Best Australian Fantasy & Horror on several occasions. His award-winning first collected volume of short fiction, Crow Shine, is out now. At times, Alan collaborates with US action/adventure author, David Wood. Together they have co-authored the horror novella, Dark Rite, the action thriller, Blood Codex (Jake Crowley Adventures Book 1), and the giant monster thriller novel, Primordial. Alan has been a four-time finalist in the Aurealis Awards, a five-time finalist in the Australian Shadows Awards and a six-time finalist in the Ditmar Awards. He won the 2015 Australian Shadows Award for Best Short Story (“Shadows of the Lonely Dead”), the 2016 Australian Shadows Paul Haines Award For Long Fiction (“In Vaulted Halls Entombed”), and the 2017 Australian Shadows Award for Best Collection (Crow Shine), and is a past winner of the AHWA Short Story Competition (“It’s Always the Children Who Suffer”). Read extracts from his novels, a novella and short stories at his website – www.warriorscribe.com – or find him on Twitter @AlanBaxter and Facebook, and feel free to tell him what you think. About anything.

Selected Blurbs

“Alan Baxter is an accomplished storyteller who ably evokes magic and menace.” – Laird Barron, author of Swift to Chase.

“Alan Baxter’s fiction is dark, disturbing, hard-hitting and heart-breakingly honest. He reflects on worlds known and unknown with compassion, and demonstrates an almost second-sight into human behaviour.” – Kaaron Warren, Shirley Jackson Award-winner and author of The Grief Hole.

a major new writer.” – The West Australian newspaper.

“…fantastic storytelling in the vein of Neil Gaiman or Alan Moore, but with a merciless black streak…” – Spooktapes

“Alan Baxter has joined the ranks of talented authors who seek to push the boundaries of fantasy fiction… gritty, graphic and edge-of-seat thrilling… Not for the faint-hearted. Entertaining, sexy and intense…” – The Manly Daily

“…if Stephen King and Jim Butcher ever had a love child then it would be Alan Baxter.” – Matthew Summers at Smash Dragons

“Alan’s work is reminiscent of that of Clive Barker and Jim C. Hines, but with a unique flavour all of its own.” – Angela Slatter, World Fantasy Award, British Fantasy Award, and Aurealis Award winning author of Sourdough & Other Stories and many more.

“Baxter draws you along a knife’s edge of tension from the first page to the last, leaving your heart thumping and sweat on your brow.” – Midwest Book Review

“Kick ASS!”Sean Williams, New York Times #1 Bestselling author.

“Alan Baxter delivers a heady mix of magic, monsters and bloody fights to the death. Nobody does kick-ass brutality like Baxter.” – Greig Beck, Internationally bestselling author.

“I would highly recommend Bound to anyone who likes a good supernatural action thriller.” – Traci Harding, bestselling author of The Ancient Future, The Timekeepers and many more.

“I had a lot of fun reading Alan Baxter’s Bound… It’s a teeth-gnashing, shadow-chasing, magesign-riddled sexy beast of a thing!” – Margo Lanagan, multiple Award-winning author of Sea Hearts and Tender Morsels.

“I was completely blown away when I read this… The world he’s built rivals anything by Jim Butcher – actually I think he’s a better writer than Butcher: his prose is fluid and engrossing, and he balances action with pace and at the same time provides wonderful vignettes of really quality descriptive prose.”Kylie Chan, author of the Dark Heavens, Journey to Wudang and Celestial Battle trilogies.

“It’s a relentless whirlwind of magic, sex, and violence… a rollercoaster of gritty magic, evocative settings, and brutal action.” – Aurealis Magazine.

.