The 2011 Nebula Awards were presented on Saturday, May 19 at the Nebula Awards Weekend, held in Arlington, Virginia. Walter Jon Williams was Toastmaster, and Astronaut Michael Fincke was the keynote speaker. Connie Willis was honored with the 2011 Damon Knight Grand Master Award for her lifetime contributions and achievements in the field.

Following are the full shortlists across all categories, with the winners in bold.


  • Among Others,  Jo Walton (Tor)
  • God’s War, Kameron Hurley (Night Shade)
  • The Kingdom of Gods, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • Firebird, Jack McDevitt (Ace)
  • Embassytown, China Miéville (Del Rey)
  • Mechanique: A Tale of the Circus Tresaulti, Genevieve Valentine (Prime)


  • “The Man Who Bridged the Mist”, Kij Johnson (Asimov’s 10-11/11)
  • “With Unclean Hands”, Adam-Troy Castro (Analog 11/11)
  • “The Ice Owl”, Carolyn Ives Gilman (F&SF 11-12/11)
  • ‘‘Kiss Me Twice’’, Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s 6/11)
  • “The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary”, Ken Liu (Panverse Three)
  • Silently and Very Fast, Catherynne M. Valente (WSFA)


  • ‘‘What We Found’’, Geoff Ryman (F&SF 9-10/11)
  • “Six Months, Three Days”, Charlie Jane Anders ( 6/8/11)
  • “The Old Equations”, Jake Kerr (Lightspeed 7/11)
  • “The Migratory Pattern of Dancers”, Katherine Sparrow (GigaNotoSaurus 7/11)
  • “Sauerkraut Station”, Ferrett Steinmetz (GigaNotoSaurus 11/11)
  • “Fields of Gold”, Rachel Swirsky (Eclipse 4)
  • “Ray of Light”, Brad R. Torgersen (Analog 12/11)

Short Story

  • “The Paper Menagerie”, Ken Liu (F&SF 3-4/11)
  • “Her Husband’s Hands”, Adam-Troy Castro (Lightspeed 10/11)
  • “Mama, We Are Zhenya, Your Son”, Tom Crosshill (Lightspeed 4/11)
  • “Shipbirth”, Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s 2/11)
  • “Movement”, Nancy Fulda (Asimov’s 3/11)
  • “The Axiom of Choice”, David W. Goldman (New Haven Review Winter ’11)
  • “The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees”, E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld 4/11)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • Doctor Who: “The Doctor’s Wife”
  • The Adjustment Bureau
  • Attack the Block
  • Captain America: The First Avenger
  • Hugo
  • Midnight in Paris
  • Source Code

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book

  • The Freedom Maze, Delia Sherman (Big Mouth House)
  • Ultraviolet, R.J. Anderson (Orchard UK; Carolrhoda)
  • Chime, Franny Billingsley (Dial)
  • The Girl of Fire and Thorns, Rae Carson (Greenwillow; Gollancz as Fire and Thorns)
  • The Boy at the End of the World, Greg van Eekhout (Bloomsbury USA)
  • Everybody Sees the Ants, A.S. King (Little, Brown)
  • Akata Witch, Nnedi Okorafor (Viking)
  • Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Laini Taylor (Little, Brown)

Octavia Butler and John Clute received the Solstice Award. Bud Webster received the SFWA Service Award.

(From Locus Online.)