2012 storySouth Million Writers Award notable stories

Well, this was a very pleasant surprise today, and many thanks to Josh Melican who pointed it out to me on my Facebook page. The news came via the website of Jason Sanford, one of the judges of the storySouth Million Writers Award, and the news is that one of my stories made the cut to be shortlisted among the notable stories of 2012.

You can learn more about the award at storySouth.com

The judges are currently reading the shortlist to pick the top ten, released in October, which will be eligible for more than $1,000 in cash and prizes. I’m not too sure how it all works, but I’ll certainly be watching closely now.

My shortlisted story is Tiny Lives, originally published in Daily Science Fiction. It’s a story that’s working hard for me, as it’s already been picked to be included in the latest Year’s Best Australian Fantasy & Horror, due out soon, which is very exciting. To be shortlisted here as well is great news.

There are quite a few notable stories on the list and it’s an honour to be among them. Full list below.

2012 storySouth Million Writers Award notable stories
(Stories listed in random order)

“Freezing Time” by Murli Melwani http://www.asiancha.com/content/view/1268/357/

“All the Things the Moon is Not” by Alexander Lumans http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/lumans_05_12/

“Dirwhals!” By Ethan Rutherford http://www.fivechapters.com/2013/dirwhals/

“For Old Times’ Sake” by Billy O’Callaghan http://www.mendacitypress.com/20OCallaghan.html

“Red Planet” By Jo Ann Heydron http://www.pacificareview.com/?p=372

“Polly” by Nik Korpon http://blackpetalsks.tripod.com/yellowmamaarchives/id434.html

“Invisible Men” by Christopher Barzak http://christopherbarzak.com/invisible-men/

“Shadows under Hexmouth Street” by Justin Howe http://www.beneath-ceaseless-skies.com/stories/shadows-under-hexmouth-street-by-justin-howe/

“Secrets of the Sea” by Jennifer Marie Brissett http://futurefire.net/2012.24/fiction/secretsofthesea.html

“Give Her Honey When You Hear Her Scream” by Maria Dahvana Headley http://www.lightspeedmagazine.com/fiction/give-her-honey-when-you-hear-her-scream/

“The Grinnell Method” by Molly Gloss http://www.strangehorizons.com/2012/20120903/grinnell-f.shtml

“Hands” by Lou Gaglia http://www.waccamawjournal.com/pages.php?x=423

“Tiny Lives” by by Alan Baxter http://dailysciencefiction.com/fantasy/modern-fantasy/alan-baxter/tiny-lives

“After We Were Nothing” by Alan Stewart Carl http://www.dzancbooks.org/the-collagist/2012/6/11/after-we-were-nothing.html

“The Battle of Candle Arc” by Yoon Ha Lee http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/lee_10_12/

“Distance” by Susan Tepper http://www.thricefiction.com/pdf/ThriceFiction007X.pdf

“Sasha, That Night” by G. K. Wuori http://www.eclectica.org/v16n3/wuori.html

“Lightning My Pilot” by Samuel Snoek-Brown http://www.bartlebysnopes.com/lightningmypilot.htm

“The Three Feats of Agani” by Christie Yant http://www.beneath-ceaseless-skies.com/stories/the-three-feats-of-agani/

“Lone Wolf” by Eric Freeze http://carvezine.com/2012-winter-freeze/

“An Occurrence at School” by Okechukwu Otukwu http://www.eclectica.org/v16n2/otukwu.html

“The Anastasia Caper” by Bruce Graham www.eclectica.org/v16n2/graham.html

“West” by Ryan W. Bradley http://www.pankmagazine.com/west/

“Woodrow Wilson” by Tim Horvath http://www.mhpbooks.com/woodrow-wilson/

“Birthday Americana” by Erika Swyler http://www.litro.co.uk/2012/07/erika-swyler-birthday-americana/

“Cousin Barnaby is Dead” by Clifford Garstang http://www.joylandmagazine.com/stories/midwest/cousin_barnaby_dead

“Reform, AL” by Christopher Lowe http://baltimorereview.org/index.php/winter_2012/contributor/christopher-lowe

“The Cathedral of Es” by Michael Stein http://www.pilvaxmag.com/the-cathedral-of-es-by-michael-stein/

“Mother Ship” by Caroline M. Yoachim http://www.lightspeedmagazine.com/fiction/mother-ship/

“Who Cooks for You” By Holly Goddard Jones http://www.fivechapters.com/2012/who-cooks-for-you/

“Why I Hate the Holidays” by Andrea Broxton http://www.eclectica.org/v16n1/broxton.html

“Confidante” by Michael Barber http://www.eclectica.org/v16n1/barber.html

“And the Hollow Space Inside” by Mari Ness http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/ness_02_12/

“Chlorine Mermaid” by Rachel Steiger-Meister http://carvezine.com/2012-spring-steiger-meister/

“Serkers and Sleep” by Kenneth Schneyer http://www.beneath-ceaseless-skies.com/stories/serkers-and-sleep-by-kenneth-schneyer/

“Art Lessons” by Gleah Powers http://www.primenumbermagazine.com/Issue17_Fiction_GleahPowers.html

“Household Management” by Ellen Klages http://www.strangehorizons.com/fund_drives/2012/special-issue-household-f.shtml

“Everyday Murders” by Jasobn Ockert http://www.storysouth.com/2012/09/everyday-murders.html

“Watching Alice Watch” by Nan Cuba http://www.storysouth.com/2012/03/watching-alice-watch.html

“Literature Appreciation” by Man Martin http://carvezine.com/2012-winter-martin/

“The Raven” by Jacqueline Kolosov http://cimarronreview.files.wordpress.com/2012/11/kolosov4web.pdf

“The Ones” by Nicholas Rombes http://fiddleblack.org/journal/issue-6/the-ones

“Treasures Few Have Ever Seen” by Mary Akers http://www.primenumbermagazine.com/Issue29_Fiction_MaryAkers.html

“And the Ruin of That House Was Great” by Ric Hoeben http://tampareviewonline.org/fiction/and-the-ruin-of-that-house-was-great/

“The Eternal Youth of Everyone Else” by Adrienne Celt http://carvezine.com/2012-summer-celt/

“The King’s Huntsman” by Jennifer Mason-Black http://giganotosaurus.org/2012/09/01/the-kings-huntsman

“Melt With You” by Emily C. Skaftun http://clarkesworldmagazine.com/skaftun_04_13/

“The Tree Poachers” by James Zerndt http://www.spiltinfinitive.com/the-tree-poachers/#.UfBgNVOt7-c

“The Butterfly Effect” by Daniel Harris http://madhattersreview.com/issue13/cnf_harris.shtml

“Ocean of Ash” by Kirsten Perry http://www.wordriot.org/archives/4450

.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • LinkedIn
  • MySpace
  • Reddit
  • Slashdot
  • Technorati
  • RSS
  • Twitter

Leave a Comment