2011 Ditmar Awards nominations announced

I told you it was awards season. The shortlist for the Ditmar Awards has just been released. The Ditmars are Australian fan-voted SF awards – you can learn all about them here. They’ll be awarded at Swancon in Perth in April. I’m so pleased to see so many talented people have got the nod, especially as so many of my friends are among them. Seriously, these guys make some stiff competition.

The list of nominations really does capture some of the best stuff from last year – voting in this is going to be really hard. In many cases I’ll be casting my vote between friends as well as very worthy stories. But just getting nominated among the plethora of talent in Australia is a hell of an achievement, so congratulations to all the nominees.

If you’re a member of the last Natcon or this coming one (Swancon in April) you can vote. Or you can pay $20 to be a supporting member, and then you get to vote without the expense of travelling to Perth. Of course, I’d recommend you go to Swancon, but I’m biased. I’ll be there.

I blogged about the Aurealis Award nominations here. Below is the Ditmar nominations ballot:

Best Novel

* Death Most Definite, Trent Jamieson (Hachette)
* Madigan Mine, Kirstyn McDermott (Pan Macmillan)
* Power and Majesty, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Voyager)
* Stormlord Rising, Glenda Larke (Voyager)
* Walking the Tree, Kaaron Warren (Angry Robot Books)
* No Award

Best Novella or Novelette

* Acception, Tessa Kum (Eneit Press)
* All the Clowns in Clowntown, Andrew McKiernan (Brimstone Press)
* Bleed, Peter M. Ball (Twelfth Planet Press)
* Her Gallant Needs, Paul Haines (Twelfth Planet Press)
* The Company Articles of Edward Teach, Thoraiya Dyer (Twelfth Planet Press)
* No Award

Best Short Story

* All the Love in the World, Cat Sparks (Sprawl, Twelfth Planet Press)
* Bread and Circuses, Felicity Dowker (Scary Kisses, Ticonderoga Publications)
* One Saturday Night With Angel, Peter M. Ball (Sprawl, Twelfth Planet Press)
* She Said, Kirstyn McDermott (Scenes From the Second Storey, Morrigan Books)
* The House of the Nameless, Jason Fischer (Writers of the Future XXVI)
* The February Dragon, Angela Slatter and Lisa L. Hannett (Scary Kisses, Ticonderoga Publications)
* No Award

Best Collected Work

* Baggage, edited by Gillian Polack (Eneit Press)
* Macabre: A Journey through Australia’s Darkest Fears, edited by Angela Challis and Marty Young (Brimstone Press)
* Scenes from the Second Storey, edited by Amanda Pillar and Pete Kempshall (Morrigan Books)
* Sprawl, edited by Alisa Krasnostein (Twelfth Planet Press)
* Worlds Next Door, edited by Tehani Wessely (FableCroft Publishing)
* No Award

Best Artwork

* Cover art, The Angaelien Apocalypse/The Company Articles of Edward Teach (Twelfth Planet Press), Dion Hamill
* Cover art, Australis Imaginarium (FableCroft Publishing), Shaun Tan
* Cover art, Dead Sea Fruit (Ticonderoga Publications), Olga Read
* Cover art, The Girl With No Hands (Ticonderoga Publications), Lisa L. Hannett
* The Lost Thing short film (Passion Pictures), Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan
* No Award

Best Fan Writer

* Robert Hood, for Undead Backbrain
* Chuck McKenzie, for work in Horrorscope
* Alexandra Pierce, for body of work including reviews at Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus
* Tehani Wessely, for body of work including reviews at Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus
* No Award

Best Fan Artist

* Rachel Holkner, for Continuum 6 props
* Dick Jenssen, for cover art of Interstellar Ramjet Scoop
* Amanda Rainey, for Swancon 36 logo
* No Award

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

* Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus, edited by Alisa Krasnostein et al.
* Bad Film Diaries podcast, Grant Watson
* Galactic Suburbia podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Alex Pierce
* Terra Incognita podcast, Keith Stevenson
* The Coode Street podcast, Gary K. Wolfe and Jonathan Strahan
* The Writer and the Critic podcast, Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond
* No Award

Best Achievement

* Helen Merrick and Andrew Milner, Academic Stream for Aussiecon 4
* Amanda Rainey, cover design for Scary Kisses
* Kyla Ward, Horror Stream and The Nightmare Ball for Aussiecon 4
* Grant Watson, Media Stream for Aussiecon 4
* Alisa Krasnostein, Kathryn Linge, Rachel Holkner, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Tehani Wessely, Snapshot 2010
* No Award

Best New Talent

* Thoraiya Dyer
* Lisa L. Hannett
* Patty Jansen
* Kathleen Jennings
* Pete Kempshall
* No Award

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review

* Leigh Blackmore, for Marvels and Horrors: Terry Dowling’s Clowns at Midnight
* Damien Broderick, for editing Skiffy and Mimesis: More Best of Australian Science Fiction Review
* Ross Murray, for The Australian Dream Becomes Nightmare
* Tansy Rayner Roberts, for A Modern Woman’s Guide to Classic Who
* No Award


Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • StumbleUpon
  • LinkedIn
  • MySpace
  • Reddit
  • Slashdot
  • Technorati
  • RSS
  • Twitter

Leave a Comment